Holy Cornbread Batman

Actually it’s jalapeno cornbread….but close enough.

Our small group at work decided to do a “Soup Off” today which encompassed 8 different kinds of (delicious) soups for our taste bud pleasure.  Once we had our samples of each we then voted on a winner.  After the voting was over we opened it up to our expanded group (about 60 people) to purchase a single bowl for $2.00 or two bowls and cornbread for $5.00.  All of the proceeds are going to Toys for Tots and our work is generous enough to match our contribution.  We were able to raise over $75 bringing our total donation to just over $150!

The soups were amazing!!!

  • Butternut Squash
  • Green Veggie Chili (which got my vote)
  • Spicy Chicken, Chorizo, Tortilla & Veggie (more or less a spicy hodge podge…I was sweating from this one for a while)
  • Chicken Wild Rice
  • Darn Good Chile
  • #1 Chile
  • White Chicken Chile
  • Cheeseburger Potato

The winner was the Chicken Wild Rice, which is funny because A) dudes mom made it for him and she works at a restaurant and B) I cannot stand Chicken Wild Rice.  I love the smell of it, but I just can’t bring myself to like it.  And yes, I tried his thinking maybe it was just the types I’ve had before, but no…not a fan, sorry all you Chicken Wild Rice lovers out there.

I loved the Green Veggie Chile.  It was so tangy and full of flavor and I loved it.  Also, for my vegetarian friends out there, it was used with Morning Star meat crumbles which i guess is meatless actually…so there you go!  But honestly it was delicious and she was nice enough to share the recipe.  I have a potluck this weekend and I am seriously contemplating making this!

Green Veggie Chili

  • 1 pack of Morning Star “meat” crumbles
  • 2 poblano peppers diced
  • 1 large onion diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • 2 cans of whole tomatillos
  • 1 small can of San Marcos salsa verde
  • 1-1.5 tablespoons of ground cumin
  • 2 cans of small white beans
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  1. Preheat large stock pot with olive oil, once oil ripples add in diced peppers, onions, garlic and “meat” crumbles.
  2. While veggies are softening, put tomatillos and salsa verde in blender on low until tomatillos are liquid.
  3. Add drained and rinsed beans and tomatillo sauce to pot and let simmer until warmed through.

Courtesy Samantha Fahey-coworker

Here’s a quick pic that i snagged with my phone…doesn’t do it justice!

My next favorite soup was a Butternut Squash that my supervisor made.  This was so creamy and full of fall flavor.  I think I might make it for Thanksgiving this year…or for a cold day that I just want to sit on the couch in my PJ’s and eat soup all day!

Butternut Squash Soup

  • 4 T butter
  • 6 T chopped onion
  • 6 cups peeled and cubed butternut squash
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • Cracked black pepper
  • Celery salt
  • 1/8 t cayenne pepper
  • 4 oz 1/3 less fat cream cheese
  • Pumpkin pie spice, sprinkled to taste
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350.
  2. Cut squash into eighths, cover in olive oil and sprinkle with cracked black pepper and celery salt.
  3. Roast in oven for 1 hour.
  4. In a large pot, melt the butter over medium-low heat and add the onions. Sauté onions for a few minutes until tender. Add the squash, broth, and cayenne and stir together. Cover the pot and bring the mixture to a boil. Turn the heat down to a simmer and simmer covered for 20 minutes or until the squash is tender.
  5. When soup is done cooking, puree the soup completely, either by using an immersion blender directly in the pot or by pouring the soup in batches into a normal blender (COVER WITH TOWEL YOU WILL BURN YO DAMN SELF), until smooth.
  6. Chuck cream cheese and let is melt in.
  7. Sprinkle a bit of Pumpkin Pie Spice on each serving.

Courtesy Jeremiah Constant-Supervisor

As I mentioned I made some cornbread for the event.  Yes, i cheated and used JIffy Corn Muffin Mix  and used their website for the recipes.  If you don’t use Jiffy in your house I applaud you and assume you have way more time than me.  I had my daughters conference last night which took about 1.25 hours then she had piano shortly after that and i still had to make dinner, help my son with homework and make a TON of cornbread.  While my last batch was in the oven I was able to say FORGET THE DISHES and take a much-needed 20 minute bath….ahhhhh.

These are the recipes I used from the Jiffy site:

Jalapeno Cornbread

  • 2 pkgs Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix (yeah…I took the short cut)
  • 3 eggs
  • ¾ cup buttermilk*
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • 4 jalapeno peppers, cored & diced**
  • 1 small red pepper, diced
  • ½ cup margarine or butter, melted
  1.  Preheat oven to 400.  Grease 9” square (I used a 9×13 to get more…but they were thinner) pan.
  2. Combine all ingredients and blend well.
  3. Bake 30-35 minutes

*If you don’t have buttermilk you can make your own by mixing 1 cup of milk with 1 tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice, let stand for 10 minutes.

**I used canned jalapeno’s that were nicely prediced for me and still had the spicy seeds to give it a little more kick.

This was definitely a fan favorite!

Broccoli Cornbread

  • 2 pkgs Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups chopped broccoli, fresh or frozen (thawed)*
  • 1 cup cottage cheese**
  • ¼ cup milk
  1. Preheat oven to 350.  Grease 9×13 pan.
  2. Combine ingredients and mix well.
  3. Bake 40-45 minutes

*I used frozen/thawed broccoli

**I used 4% small curd cottage cheese

The recipe also calls for sautéed onions…but honestly, I was too tired…and thought that they tasted great without onions.

I made some regular cornbread just following the recipe on the box and then I also made mini muffins so that the taste testers would have something to cleanse their pallets with!

What kind of charity is your office or family planning on doing this Holiday Season?

Leave a Reply

