A Kitchen Worth Waiting For

I love everything about design, from the shabby to the chic, from the traditional to the contemporary, from the high end to the low end….I love it all! One of my dreams as a child was to become an interior designer, however it was nothing that I ever sought after simply because I didn’t realize that it extended beyond “Home Interiors” (raise your hand if you know what I am talking about—yeah you, I know you do!). I thought it was so tacky and didn’t understand how and why people bought that stuff…so, I continued on with my meaningless jobs landing myself a career in the transportation industry. So classy, right? Well, now that I am back in school my mind is starting to follow my heart of owning my own business, one towards design and the other towards event marketing. How does one decide??? I guess I’ll just have to start two companies 😛

Even though things are not final with the house yet, I still search the net daily to come up with ideas of what to do to it. I try to keep them flexible so that they would function in any home should this one fall through (oh please no!!). For many years I have decorated my home with dark tones, Italy inspired, vineyard inspired…you get the picture. Well, I recently have discovered that I love LOVE the light and bright, I took several online “style/décor” quizzes and discovered that my taste is “Vintage Eclectic”, or “Modern Eclectic” or “Shabby Chic” depending on my mood I guess. Just Google “design/décor/decorating style quiz” and you’ll have several to choose from. The nice thing is that if you didn’t know that was your style they give you ideas on what key pieces to look for, where to shop, what color pallets or texture mixtures work best. And can I say I never knew that light colors could be so fun?!?!?!

This is the inspiration color palette for, well for most of the house actually (with the exception of the kid’s rooms and maybe the bathroom—really pushing for a yellow & gray!)

Having always fallen back on the maroons, forest greens and beige’s of the world I think is the reason my house and rooms have felt so sad and unhappy….especially during the winter!

This is the inspiration for my kitchen:

I am in love with the idea of doing a darker color for the cabinets on the bottom and something lighter for the top. My kitchen (should everything with this house go through, knock on wood) will have room for a nice large island, where I will do a vast majority of my baking and cake decorating and I would like that to stand out over everything else so I’m not sure how exactly to do that in coordination with the cupboards. I especially like the idea of sticking with white walls and just painting all the wood trim around doors and windows the turquoise! The only dilemma I have with that is there is a bay window in joining dining room and I am not sure if I want to paint the seat of the window?

The kitchen has a vaulted ceiling and currently has an ugly 1970’s florescent lighting fixture angled along the ceiling…PUKE! I want to keep it bright in there and especially want lighting over the island, but I’m stuck. I think I am going to do some sort of pendant lighting over the island but I don’t know what to do for the rest of the kitchen…would that be enough??

How cute would the last one be if I could paint some ceramic bowls in my colors…perfect for a bakers kitchen!

That’s about as far as I have come in regards to the kitchen. I took a hiatus on the planning when I cancelled the original purchase agreement and started the house hunt all over again. But now that we’re back to my first love, my mood has done a 180° and I am on the edge of my seat waiting to get in there and make it my own! Until then I will keep posting my inspirations with the hope that in not too long I will be posting some “Before/After” shots.

Happy Creating!

Leave a Reply

